Welcome to Trustpower. The browser that you are currently using is not supported by this site. For best results please upgrade your browser.
Retrieving Data

Get notified when entries open in March!

Community Awards Notification Form


Entries for the 2018 Trustpower Community Awards open in all eligible regions on Monday 5 March.

About one thousand voluntary groups from around New Zealand enter the Trustpower Community Awards each year. It’s a celebration of just how much volunteers mean to our country. No matter how big or small, if your group, club or society has volunteers, it has earned the right to be involved.

Anyone can enter a group... groups can even enter themselves!

Trustpower Community Awards

The regional Community Awards started in 1994, and are held in partnership with local district and city councils. There are now 24 regional Community Awards, covering 26 regions. Trustpower Community Award recipients are recognised for services to:

  • Heritage and Environment.
  • Health and Wellbeing.
  • Arts and Culture.
  • Sport and Leisure.
  • Education and Child/Youth Development.

Entries are judged by a panel made up of representatives from Trustpower, the local council and community. Each region holds a formal function to present the Awards. Every group that is entered is invited to have one or more representatives at this function.

In 2018, Trustpower Community Award recipients will receive $1,000 prize money and a framed certificate. The Supreme Winner will receive $2,000 prize money, a trophy, a framed certificate, and an all-expenses paid trip for two representatives to the Trustpower National Community Awards.

Trustpower Youth Community Spirit Award

The Youth Community Spirit Award is held alongside each of the regional Community Awards. In 2018, this popular award will be open to all 17-18 year olds (Year 13 or equivalent) who are making a difference in their community. Recipients of a Trustpower Youth Community Spirit Award will receive $750 prize money and a framed certificate.

Trustpower National Community Awards

The National Community Awards were first held in 2000. All regional Supreme Winners get to contest the title of National Supreme Winner. But far more than that, the National Awards are an opportunity for everyone to share ideas, experiences, contacts, and inspiration. The National Community Awards are held over three days, set in a provincial area, alternating each year between the North and South Islands. Each of the regional Supreme Winners are invited to send two representatives. Their region's Mayor and a partner, or an alternate Council representative is also invited. The National Community Awards are also attended by representatives from leading voluntary organisations, community sector professionals, members of parliament, media, and more.

Beforehand, each of the regional Supreme Winning groups provides a 1,000 word summary of their activity or project. At the Awards, they back this up with a short presentation. This is judged by an independent panel and by the other groups and on awards night, the Trustpower National Community Awards Supreme Winner is announced.

The supreme winner receives a custom-made trophy, $4,000 in prize money, a $1,000 voucher from one of New Zealand’s leading training providers for the community sector, Exult. The Runner Up will receive $2,500 in prize money, a $500 Exult voucher and a framed certificate. The Whetū Mātaiata Award, which is an award to recognise a group that is already putting in the hard yards, but has potential to thrive even more with a little extra support, receives a framed certificate and a consultancy service package from award sponsor, Exult. The awards gain exposure in national media, so there is significant opportunity for the winning group to boost their profile.

*All prize money is given to recognise and reward the commitment of winning volunteers. It is not given as grants, so how it is used is up to the winning organisation or individual.