Welcome to Trustpower. The browser that you are currently using is not supported by this site. For best results please upgrade your browser.
Retrieving Data

You’ll find one of New Zealand’s best stretches of accessible white water on the Wairoa River, above State Highway 29. Access to the river is open to everyone, free of charge. 

Please note, the river is grade five - exceedingly difficult with long and violent rapids. Safety on the water is your own responsibility, so suitable skills and preparation is vital. If in doubt, contact the Kaimai Canoe Club.

Here are the upcoming dates for releasing recreational flow:

On the following dates, a flow of 15 cumecs is due to be released, between 10.00am to 4.00pm.

2017

Sunday 17 September
Sunday 1 October
Sunday 15 October
Sunday 29 October
Sunday 12 November
Sunday 26 November
Sunday 10 December
Sunday 17 December
Sunday 31 December

2018

Sunday 7 January
Sunday 14 January
Sunday 21 January
Sunday 28 January
Sunday 4 February
Sunday 11 February
Saturday 17 February
Sunday 18 February
Sunday 25 February
Sunday 4 March
Sunday 11 March
Sunday 18 March
Sunday 25 March
Sunday 8 April
Sunday 15 April
Sunday 22 April
Sunday 6 May